Home / 1957 International Agreement Founding The European Economic Community

1957 International Agreement Founding The European Economic Community

Parliament insisted that an agreement be reached and, on 20 September 1976, the Council approved some of the instruments necessary for the elections, deferreating details of the various electoral systems to date. [8] During President Jenkins` term in Office in June 1979, elections were held in all members of the time (see elections to the European Parliament in 1979). [9] The new Parliament, shaken by direct elections and new powers, began working full-time and became more active than previous assemblies. [8] There were three political institutions that held the executive and legislative power of the EEC, as well as a judicial institution and a fifth body established in 1975. These institutions (with the exception of the auditors) were set up by the EEC in 1957, but they applied to the three Communities from 1967. The Council represents the governments, Parliament the citizens and the Commission represents European interests. [21] In essence, the Council, the Parliament or any other party make a request for legislation to the Commission. The Commission then designs it and submits it to the Council and Parliament for its opinion (in some cases it has had its veto depending on the legislative procedure used). The Commission`s role is to ensure its implementation by looking at the day-to-day functioning of the Union and by bringing further lawsuits if they do not comply. [21] After the Maastricht Treaty of 1993, these institutions became those of the European Union, although they were limited in some areas due to the structure of the pillars. Nevertheless, Parliament, in particular, has gained more power over the Commission`s legislation and security.

The Court was the supreme body of the law and ruled disputes in the Community, while the auditors had no other power than to investigate. Six countries signed on that day, in 1957, a Treaty establishing the European Economic Community (EEC) – most often referred to as the common market – and took the first steps towards closer fiscal and political harmony that would lead to the European Union. In 1956, Paul Henri Spaak chaired the Intergovernmental Conference on the Common Market and Euratom at the Val Duchesse Conference Centre, which prepared the Treaty of Rome in 1957. The Conference culminated in the signing of the Treaty of Rome establishing a European Economic Community on 25 March 1957. With the entry into force of the Maastricht Treaty in 1993, the EEC was renamed the European Community to reflect the fact that it covered a wider range than economic policy. On that date, the three European Communities, including the EC, jointly became the first of the three pillars of the European Union, which the Treaty also founded. The EC existed in this form until it was abolished by the 2009 Lisbon Treaty, which included the EC institutions within the broader FRAMEWORK of the EU and proposed that the EU “replace and succeed the European Community”. The treaty has been amended several times since 1957.

The Maastricht Treaty of 1992 removed the word “economic” from the official title of the Treaty of Rome and in 2009 the Treaty of Lisbon renamed it the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union. Members have revamped the organization several times to increase their political decision-making powers and review their political structure. On 1 July 1967, the EEC, ECSC and Euratom Governing Bodies were merged. .

Thông tin vienvu

Kiểm tra lại

Example Of Subject Verb Agreement Rule 5

A composite subject consisting of two or more nouns, connected by “and”, requires a plural …